Photographing Mushrooms

Photographing Mushrooms

By David Cobb

Mushrooms are the flowers of fall, and photographing them may look easy but it’s not. Here are a few tips which can prove helpful when photographing mushrooms. First, you’ll want to correctly identify the mushrooms you shoot, so pick up a good mushroom book to help with identification. My favorite book on fungi is Mushrooms Demystified by David Arora. I also recommend his field-pocket guide. When I photograph mushrooms, I often begin with a document photograph. This helps me identify the mushroom later and creates a stock photography photo I can use. (If you’re having trouble with identification, spore prints and other i.d. factors listed in the book can help.)

Senoritas Dress

 

As with macro flora photography, I often look for a good background first and then I look for an interesting mushroom. Close to the ground there can be a lot of dirt and dark blobs which prove distracting. It’s easy enough in the fall to use a bed of leaves to cover up those distracting dark holes (see “Senoritas Dress” shown above). Other “gardening” tips may include lightly brushing off stray pine needles, sticks, or insects. As I do with flora photography, I usually zoom into a small area of the mushroom that inspires me the most—such as the cap or the gills underneath. Turning an occasional fungus over on its backside can be an interesting study in form (see “Gills” below).

Gills

 

When photographing mushrooms, I often use extension tubes, my Canon 500D diopter and my Canon 100mm macro to bring me closer to my subject; because it’s a small world down there (see “Mushroom Forest” image below).

Mushroom Forest

 

Experiment with your depth-of-field and see which image looks best by using your depth-of-field preview. Changing your point of view can alter a subject drastically as well. Shooting from above is nice, but photographing a mushroom at ground level or even from below is much better. Mushrooms photograph best on overcast days, but you may still notice the mushroom cap giving off some reflective glare, so a polarizer will come in handy. Clumps of mushrooms can also offer interesting patterns to photograph, and colorful ones like the Amanita muscaria create a good foreground for a larger forest landscape.

Chanterelles

 

The best part of mushroom photography is that after you photograph a few edible mushrooms like Chanterelles, you then take them home and eat them! Of course selling those photos for publication doesn’t hurt either.

~ by photocascadia on October 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “Photographing Mushrooms”

  1. David,
    About toadstools or poison mushrooms or whatever you call them, what precautions (other than not eating them) do you need to take about handling them, getting close etc?

    • Hi Jody, I’ve never taken precautions, but I often wear gloves in the fall too. Handling wild poisonous mushrooms will not harm you, only ingesting them, but I would wash my hands afterward. For the most part I don’t need to handle them either, except if I turn them over to photograph the underside. I’ve seen Amanita virosa (Destroying Angel) and Amanita phalloides (Death Cap) in the Pacific Northwest, these are two deadly ones if ingested.

  2. David,
    A very timely article. Here in Missouri mushrooms are in bloom. How much more magnification do you get adding the extension tubes to the macro lens?

    • Hi Nancy, it all depends on how many extension tubes you use. In “Mushroom Forest” the smaller mushroom was about 1.25 inches high, and by using my diopter and 42mm of extension tubes I was able to get nice and close to my subject. With extension tubes, the trade-off is loss of light, with a diopter the trade-off is quality, but that’s another subject.

Leave a Reply

 
