PHOTOSHOP CS5 VIDEO DEMO

By Zack Schnepf

This is the first of many video tutorials and demos I plan to post here on the Photo Cascadia blog.  I’m in the process of producing a series of instructional Photoshop videos for online and DVD lessons.  I’ve also starting doing remote online workshops for people who don’t want to travel all the way to Portland to take a Photoshop workshop.  These kind of video tutorials and online lessons have become so popular, it’s changing the way I do workshops.  When I do a one on one workshop with a student, I record the whole session; they don’t need to take notes and they can take the video home to study everything we covered in detail, including things they may have missed.  They’re incredible teaching tools.

This is just a short demo of some of my favorite new features in Photoshop CS5, I’m not going to go into too much detail, but instead try to introduce the powerful new tools available in Photoshop CS5 and how they can be applied to landscape photography. I’ve only had my hands on Photoshop CS5 for a few days, but it’s already changing the way I think about editing. Kudos to Adobe.

For the best viewing experience, click the 720 HD option and watch full screen.

~ by photocascadia on May 6, 2010.

7 Responses to “PHOTOSHOP CS5 VIDEO DEMO”

  1. Great job, Zack. I’ve always done the upgrades with each version of Photoshop but wasn’t sure what CS5 offered for the type of photography I do. Now I know at least a couple of very good reasons to get the newest version.

    One question: Why do you start with the sliders for Luminance and Color noise at 100 and then try to recover detail, rather than starting with a lower amount of noise reduction?

    • One question: Why do you start with the sliders for Luminance and Color noise at 100 and then try to recover detail, rather than starting with a lower amount of noise reduction?

      Hi Greg, I tried to mention in the video, I’m obsessed with very low noise, because many of my images end up in my shows as very large prints. You certainly don’t have to start from 100, this is just my own preference.

      Cheers

      Zack

  2. Thanks for the vids Zack, really useful in site to the new features. I’m off now to go and get my copy – Paul aka Ducatirider

  3. Thanks Zack, very useful tutorial. I’m looking forward to getting my boxed CS5 in the mail and putting these new tools to use.

  4. Zack,
    Good videos! My copy of CS5 is on order and I can’t wait to get it.
    One thing though, on the second video illustrating the selection tool, I couldn’t tell how you knew where you wanted to refine the selection. Was it just from your memory of the photo or were you looking at a copy on a second monitor?

  5. Great videos Zack!

    I think what Mike is asking at one point you said I want to include this island here, and I couldn’t see anything until you started revealing it out of the white. I’m guessing that from memory?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
